Cyprus: Passports revoked for Turkish Cypriot leadership

The President of the Republic of Cyprus Nikos Anastasiadis chaired today, at the presidential residence in Troodos, a meeting of the Council of Ministers.

After the meeting, in a statement to reporters, Government Spokesman Marios Pelekanos said that “The Council of Ministers in its meeting today decided as the first move to revoke or not the renewal or issuance of passports of the Republic of Cyprus for a number of persons the so-called Council of Ministers of the pseudo-state, or members of the Varosha opening committee and who by their actions or actions undermine the sovereignty, independence, territorial integrity and security of the Republic of Cyprus, contrary to the provisions of the Constitution.

They are the same people who with their specific hostile actions against the Republic of Cyprus promote the implementation of Turkey’s plans to change the status of the Varosha enclave, contrary to United Nations Security Council resolutions and in particular resolutions 550 and 789 regarding the status of the Famagusta enclosed area.

The Council of Ministers also decided to ask the Attorney General to proceed with the registration of the 5th transnational appeal regarding what happened, but also the actions that Turkey and the occupation regime continue to take in the closed area of ​​Famagusta, after the recommendation of opinions received from prestigious legal advisers, addressed to the Republic of Cyprus./ibna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *