North Macedonia

Northern Macedonia honors Nikos Kotzias among 30 personalities for 30 years of independence

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Hellenic Republic Nikos Kotzias is among thirty personalities appointed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Northern Macedonia and Minister Bujar Osmani to honor, on the 30th anniversary of the country’s declaration of independence in 1991.

“This year, the Republic of Northern Macedonia celebrates the 30th anniversary of independence, declared in 1991. On that occasion, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Bujar Osmani, decided to distribute awards to 30 foreign nationals, senior EU officials. and NATO, statesmen, diplomats and experts for our country and the region. “With this act, we give a symbolic recognition of the legacy of independence, our support and assistance in fulfilling the Euro-Atlantic perspective, as well as strengthening the multiethnic, multicultural and multi-religious cohesion of our country and society,” said the announcement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs external.

“Thirty years later, the Republic of Northern Macedonia has a predictable future, as a member of the main mechanisms of Western integration, but also predictable political and economic stability. The greatest credit for them goes, of course, to our citizens, but the support of friends all over the world is also of great importance in achieving these ambitions “the announcement continues.

Concluding, it says, “appreciating their special contribution through the prism of many events and processes that represent important moments of our recent past, the development and active involvement as a modern and prosperous member of the international community, as well as the efforts extraordinary to overcome obstacles goals important to our foreign policy, and thus the overall socio-economic development, we express our recognition for their contribution to the development of the country of the following persons “:

Robert Badinter, Chairman of the Arbitration Committee of the Yugoslav Peace Conference

Lawrence Butler, Ambassador of the United States (2002-2005)

Erhard Busek, Special Coordinator for the Stability Pact for South East Europe (2002-2008)

Max van der Stoel, OSCE High Commissioner on National Minorities (1993-2001) – posthumously

Barney White-Spunner, British General and NATO Commander in our country (2001) and member of the Ohrid Group

Zhelyu Zhelev, President of the Republic of Bulgaria (1990-1997) – posthumously

Klaus Kinkel, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany (1992-1998) – posthumously

Nikos Kotzias, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Hellenic Republic (2015-2018)

Alain Le Roy, EU Special Representative (2001-2002) and member of the Ohrid Group

Stefan Lehne, Director of the Directorate for the Balkans, Eastern Europe and Central Asia at the General Secretariat of the Council of the EU (2002-2008)

Anna Lindh, Swedish Foreign Minister and President of the EU Council (2001) – posthumously

Tadeusz Mazovjecki, Special Rapporteur of the UN Commission on Human Rights – posthumous

John McCain, US Senator – after death

Matthew Nimetz, Personal Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations (1999-2019)

Lord Patten, European Commissioner for Foreign Affairs (1999-2004)

James Pardew, US Representative in our country (2001) – after death

Reinhard Priebe, Director for the Western Balkans at the EU Secretariat-General for Foreign Affairs (2001-2004) and Enlargement (2005-2006)

Romano Prodi, Former Prime Minister of Italy and President of the European Commission (1999-2004)

Condoleezza Rice, US Secretary of State (2005-2009)

Olli Rehn, European Commissioner for Enlargement (2004-2010)

George Robertson, NATO Secretary General (1999-2004) and President of Ohrid

Daniel Serwer, University Professor

David Slin, ex-British diplomat

Francisco Javier Solana, EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy (1999-2009) and member of the Ohrid Group

Jean Francois Terral, Ambassador of the French Republic (2000-2003)

Pieter Feith, Personal Representative of the Secretary-General of NATO (2001)

Ervan Fuere, EU Special Representative and Head of Delegation to the European Commission (2005-2011)

Christopher Robert Hill, Ambassador to the USA (1996-1999)

Richard Holbrooke, US Assistant Secretary of State for European and Canadian Affairs (1994-1996) – posthumously

Hikmet Çetin, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Turkish Republic (1991-1994)

Hans-Lothar Steppan, historian and ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany (1993-1997) – posthumously.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *