Bulgaria Croatia

Bulgaria and Croatia will further benefit from the EU “solidarity vaccines”

Bulgaria will receive 1,259,728 doses of “solidarity vaccines”, in line with a decision by member state ambassadors on additional doses purchased by the Commission from Pfizer / BioNTech last night.

The amount was agreed at a meeting of the Permanent Representatives of the Member States, while the Agreement was proposed by the Portuguese Presidency. These are a total of 10 million doses of the Pfizer / BioNTech vaccine agreed at the last Council of Europe. These installments will be distributed according to the population of the Member States in the second quarter of 2021.

The Bulgarian Prime Minister commented on Facebook that this is “good news not only for Bulgaria, but for the whole of Europe because it shows solidarity with the EU.”

The Croatian Prime Minister wrote on Twitter that “after the European Council and a series of high-level talks and negotiations in Brussels, we provided 747,000 additional doses of Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine to Croatia by the end of June. This will further protect the health of citizens. and will provide greater vaccination before the tourist season. “

Representatives of the countries agreed to provide about 3 million doses as “solidarity vaccines” for the five countries crawling in the vaccination process in Europe. However, not all countries agreed: Austria, the Czech Republic and Slovenia withdrew their line.

More specifically, 19 Member States (Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain and Sweden) will take part in the 6, 66 million vaccines proportionally.

These 19 countries also agreed to jointly distribute to 5 Member States (Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia and Slovakia) a portion of 2,854,654 doses of the same vaccine, in addition to their share of the 10 million vaccines.

Austria, the Czech Republic and Slovenia will receive a share of 10 million vaccines.

The Portuguese Presidency commented on the reasoning of the decision: “Following the informal teleconference on 25 March 2021, members of the European Council issued a statement confirming the key to the population report on vaccines and instructing the Committee of Permanent Representatives (COREPER) to address the issue of rapid delivery of vaccines during the delivery of 10 million doses of BioNTech-Pfizer that will arrive quickly in the second quarter of 2021 in a spirit of solidarity. Today, a single solution has been agreed. It enables a genuine expression of solidarity through the distribution of nearly 3 million vaccines to those most in need. “

Austria, along with Slovenia and the Czech Republic, have refused to join an agreement with the other 24 member states to offer more doses to the five countries most in need of vaccinations. The Czech government has decided not to participate in the program, effectively losing about 70,000 doses that would otherwise have been given.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *